Search | Statistics | User Listing | Member Roster | Coach DB Forums | Albums
FMC Owner's Forum
Home -> FMC Owner's Forum ->  General Discussion -> Mechanic's Corner -> View Thread

You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Installing a Holley Sniper and Fuel Injection initial impressions
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   General Discussion -> Mechanic's CornerMessage format

woodlandfarms
Posted 2020-09-02 1:18 AM (#7569)
Subject: Installing a Holley Sniper and Fuel Injection initial impressions

Regular

So to start this, I wanted to explain how I ended up with the Holley. My old Thermoquad was so bad I found parts of the choke connection lodged in its secondaries. While I have restored a number of cars, I am no mechanic, and carburetors and transmissions have always let me down on my restorations. In looking at what our plans are with #86 I decided it would make more sense to get fuel injection, primarily for reliability, but also for altitude as we live at sea level but plan many trips into the mountains above 9000 ft. So with the blessing of the wife, I pulled up the Summit catalogue and found 4 systems, the Holley, FiTech, Summit, and Edelbrock. The first three are basically carburetor with fuel injection pumps replacing the jets. The Edelbrock is the intake manifold with injectors for each cylinder which is a more efficient and potentially more reliable system than the others. The prices (in 2020) were Summits at 750 followed by the Fitech at 1000 (which also included pump and filter). The Holley I ended up with was 1300 and included pumps and filters. The Edelbrock was around 2200 but included a new distributor and ignition system. Another FMC Owner had installed the Edelbrock, and to get it in he had to loose his AC System (which was not working) as well as modify his water neck on the water pump. In the end, the dollars were looming so I had planned on the Summit but the wife in